Celebrating the sector at this years One Dance UK Awards!

Celebrating the sector at this years One Dance UK Awards!

14 February 2024 Posted by One Dance Team


The acclaimed One Dance UK Awards ceremony took place at The Box at FarGo Village in Coventry Bristol on Saturday, 10 February, to celebrate the outstanding contribution of people working in dance across the UK. 

 A panel of expert judges, drawn from the dance sector, reviewed thousands of nominations to arrive at a shortlist of nominees for each category, including the prestigious Jane Attenborough Award and the Bob Lockyer Award for Digital Innovation in Dance – both awards honouring the lives and work of founding members of Dance UK. 

One Dance UK also chose to honour Helen Parlor, who passed shortly before nominations opened, with an honorary glass-raising and custom-made plaque recognising her enduring legacy and impact on the dance sector in the UK. 

The evening was hosted by Coventry's poet Laureate John Bernard, with performances coming from Break-Dots and Motionhouse.

The shortlisted nominees and recipients all truly reflect the commitment and innovation that exists across the many parts of the dance sector; we would like to say a huge thank you and well done to them all. 

This years recipients are:


The Community Champion Award: Step Change Studios

Green Dance Award: Akademi, Pravaas

Young People’s Dance Champion Award: Ashwini Kalsekar

Science & Research in Dance Award: Maria Kolitsida

The Health & Wellbeing in Dance Award: Sara Macqueen (Linden Dance)

The Dance Spotlight Award: Melanie Precious


Bob Lockyer Award for Digital Innovation in Dance: Birmingham Royal Ballet

The People’s Choice Award:Dr Swati Raut

The Dance Changemaker Award: Dancers Career Development

The Artistic Innovation in Dance Award:  Luca Silvestrini

The Jane Attenborough Award: Claire Nicholson and Eddie Copp