Award recipients announced for One Dance UK Awards 2019!

11 Nov 2019

Andrew Hurst, Christopher Rodriguez & Jonzi D by Brian Slater

Oh what a night…!

The second acclaimed One Dance UK Awards ceremony took place in Manchester on Saturday night, saluting the outstanding contribution of people working in dance across the UK.

One Dance UK hosted the annual event against the dramatic backdrop of the Imperial War Museum North as an opportunity for people in the industry to unite, celebrate, acknowledge and recognise the people who have made an impact on the vibrant UK dance landscape. A panel of expert judges, drawn from the dance sector reviewed thousands of nominations to arrive at a shortlist of nominees for each category.

Hosted by Jonzi D, the Awards went to a wide range of individuals, organisations, and companies, listed below.

If you post about the One Dance UK Awards, be sure to tag us at @onedanceuk and hashtag #ODUKawards so we can see and share your memories! Keep an eye out for more pictures and videos coming soon!

See the awards recipients below!

Photos by Brian Slater

The awardees are as follows:

The Greater Manchester Award
Company Chameleon

Outstanding Primary Dance Teaching Award
Jacqui Burrows

Outstanding Secondary Dance Teaching Award
Gillian Lenton

Rising Star Award (Dance Teaching)
Kieran Warner

Dance Advocacy Award
Magpie Dance

Inspirational Community Dance Practitioner Award
Jennie Hale

Inspirational Work in Education Award
ACE Dance and Music

Inspirational Lecturer at College, University or Conservatoire Award
Khyle Eccles (Trinity Laban)

Most Supportive Senior Leader or Governor Award
Billy Downie, The Streetly Academy

Dance Healthcare Practitioner Award
Jody Morgan

Dance Healthcare Team Award
Physical Support Team at London Contemporary Dance School

Research in Dance – Impact Award
Dr Angela Pickard

Dance Science Award
Professor Emma Redding

Outstanding Dance Programming Award
Eckhard Thiemann (The Lowry)

Innovation in Dance Award
North East Dance Cooperative

Dance Writing Award
Sanjoy Roy

Dance on Screen – Impact Award
Scottish Ballet

Best Use of Dance by a Brand
Tesco: DanceBeats

People’s Choice Award
Javier Torres

Dance Personality of the Year Award (sponsored by The Place)
Andrew Self

Lifetime Achievement Award in Dance of the African Diaspora (Supported By Derrick Anderson)
Funmi Adewole

Lifetime Achievement Award in South Asian Dance (Sponsored by Akademi South Asian Dance)
Chitraleka Bolar

Lifetime Achievement Award in Dance Education & Participation
Sujata Banerjee

The Jane Attenborough Award
Roger Wolman

Maggie Morris & Jonzi D by Brian Slater