Richard Alston awarded Honorary Fellowship

11 Dec 2017

From L-R: The Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC MP, Richard Alston CBE (member of One Dance UK), Professor Anthony Bowne (Board Member of One Dance UK), and Mirella Bartrip

Dance legend and Artistic Director of The Place, Richard Alston CBE was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance at the Dance graduation ceremony on Friday 8 December 2017.

The presentation was given by Trinity Laban Director of Dance, Mirella Bartrip at the award-winning Laban Building, in front of the 2017 graduating dance students. The citation, given by Bartrip, read (excerpt):

“Richard Alston’s achievements in dance and education span nearly five decades, and have played a major role in the establishment of contemporary dance in the UK. His company – Richard Alston Dance Company – is one of the most popular and celebrated in the UK, and his body of work as a choreographer is admired throughout the world. In addition, he has made a truly outstanding contribution to the development of young artistic talent, not only as Artistic Director of The Place and Chair of Youth Dance England, but through his involvement with many choreographic initiatives for emerging artists.”

Richard Alston is recognised as one of the most prominent figures in contemporary dance, having been Artistic Director of The Place – home to London Contemporary Dance School and Richard Alston Dance Company – since 1994. He was previously Resident Choreographer with Ballet Rambert, and was Artistic Director there from 1986 until 1992. Alston is the recipient of many awards, and in 2001 received a CBE for services to Dance.

On receiving the fellowship, Richard commented:

“I am so very pleased to have been made a fellow of Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.

“I have worked in dance long enough to have seen the legacy of Rudolf Laban blossom from the small but impassioned Art of Movement Centre at Addlestone in Surrey into the impressive and wide reaching establishment that Trinity Laban has become today. Over the years the centre has progressively taken huge steps to ensure its continuing relevance to contemporary practice and ideas in dance. Trinity Laban remains a vital ingredient in the world of creative education and vocational training.

“It means a great deal to me that my work as a dance maker and as a teacher should be recognised by such an august body and I thank Trinity Laban for this.”

Trinity Laban Honorary Fellowships are awarded each year to distinguished artists, practitioners, educators and professionals in the fields of the performing arts and education. Previous recipients have included dance artists Sir Matthew Bourne, Merce Cunningham and Emma Gladstone; musicians Sir Edward Downes, the Kronos Quartet and Ravi Shankar; and leaders in the arts such as Sir Tony Hall, Darren Henley MBE and Sir Cameron Mackintosh.