Honouring individuals working in dance

Jane Attenborough Award

The Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award

The Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. Named in memory of the founding Director of Dance UK (later to become One Dance UK), the award aims to highlight the important, but often unacknowledged, contributions made by exceptional individuals who make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen.

Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a manager, designer, teacher, critic, healthcare practitioner – in fact anyone – who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role.

Previous winners of the Jane Attenborough Industry Award include:

Jacky Lansley (2018)

Mary Brennan (2017)

Brenda Last (2016)

Tamara Mclorg (2015)

Frank Doran (2014)

Amanda Chinn (2013)

Jeanette Siddall CBE (2012)

David Burnie (2011)

Gill Clarke (2010)

Marie McCluskey MBE (2009)

Janet Smith MBE (2008)

Celeste Dandeker OBE (2007)

Val Bourne CBE (2006)

Brendan Keaney (2005)

Theresa Beattie (2004)

Dick Matchett MBE (2003)

“It is a very great honour, overwhelming and humbling to receive the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Arts Industry Award. I celebrate it with some incredibly special and talented colleagues and ex-colleagues who I have had the pleasure of riding this dance rollercoaster alongside.”

Amanda Chinn, General Manager of Scottish Dance Theatre on winning the 2013 award: