Honouring individuals working in dance

Jane Attenborough Award

The Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award

The Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. Named in memory of the founding Director of Dance UK (later to become One Dance UK), the award aims to highlight the important, but often unacknowledged, contributions made by exceptional individuals who make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen.

Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a manager, designer, teacher, critic, healthcare practitioner – in fact anyone – who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role.

Nominations close on 15 January 2018 and the winner is announced as part of the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards on 19 February 2018. Individuals who have been nominated in previous years but have not won, can be nominated again.

Brenda ‘Birdie’ Last receiving the 2016 Jane Attenborough Industry Award at the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards, with Andrew Hurst, One Dance UK CEO. © Elliott Franks

Previous winners of the Jane Attenborough Industry Award include:

Brenda Last (2016)

Tamara Mclorg (2015)

Frank Doran (2014)

Amanda Chinn (2013)

Jeanette Siddall CBE (2012)

David Burnie (2011)

Gill Clarke (2010)

Marie McCluskey MBE (2009)

Janet Smith MBE (2008)

Celeste Dandeker OBE (2007)

Val Bourne CBE (2006)

Brendan Keaney (2005)

Theresa Beattie (2004)

Dick Matchett MBE (2003)

“It is a very great honour, overwhelming and humbling to receive the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Arts Industry Award. I celebrate it with some incredibly special and talented colleagues and ex-colleagues who I have had the pleasure of riding this dance rollercoaster alongside.”

Amanda Chinn, General Manager of Scottish Dance Theatre on winning the 2013 award:

How to Make a Nomination

  • Nominations for the award should be sent to Joanne Whittaker , administrator via email to joanne.whittaker@onedanceuk.org
  • All nominations must be received by 15 January 2018
  • Please include the name of the person nominated, along with a statement of no more than 200 words explaining why this person should win the award
  • Please include your own name and contact details
  • Please state where the person nominated is based and how he or she can be contacted

The One Dance UK Industry Award is dedicated to, and named after, Jane Attenborough, who was the founding Director of Dance UK. One Dance UK is the national body representing the dance industry, from dancers and teachers, to major dance companies and theatres.

The 2015 and 2016 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Awards were generously sponsored by Gary Halkyard and Sprizzato.