One Dance UK Awards Ceremony 2022

The One Dance UK Awards are an annual celebration for people from across the dance sector to unite, celebrate, acknowledge and reward the people who have made an impact on the vibrant UK dance landscape! Championing the excellent work of dance artists, teachers, practitioners, educators, schools, choreographers, companies, venues, scientists, and writers, this is a glittering evening of celebrations, all for those who contribute to the dance sector throughout the UK.

This year One Dance UK hosted the annual event in the dramatic backdrop of The Mount Without in Bristol, to recognise the exceptional work and achievements of the many talented professionals who contribute to the dance sector throughout the UK. The shortlisted nominees and recipients truly reflecting the commitment and innovation that exists across the many parts of the dance sector. A panel of expert judges, drawn from the dance sector reviewed thousands of nominations to arrive at a shortlist of nominees for each category, including the prestigious Jane Attenborough Award and the newly named Bob Lockyer Award for Digital Innovation in Dance – both awards honouring the lives and work of founding members of Dance UK.

The evening was hosted by Bristol based Dr. Mena Fombo with performances coming from Bristol Ballroom Community and Impermanence Dance, resident company of The Mount Without.

We are delighted to recognise the hard work and talent of people making a difference to the dance sector. These awards acknowledge some of the many areas of work that professionals and practitioners are involved in. We are proud to shine a light on this incredible work.

Andrew Hurst MBE, Chief Executive One Dance UK

Thank you to the One Dance UK Awards 2022 event sponsors:

One Dance UK Awards 2022 Silver Sponsor 

One Dance UK Awards 2022 Bronze Sponsor

We are also grateful to our event contributors and associates and would like to thank Gordon & Co. for their generous support towards the Awards programme.


The One Dance UK 2022 recipients:

Health and Wellbeing in Dance Award: Dr. Roasaria Gracia

Science in Research in Dance Award: Joseph Shaw

Young People’s Dance Champion Award: Amy Burdon

Community Champion Award: Rubicon Dance

The Dance Spotlight Award: Dawn Prentice

The Dance Changemaker Award: Lucy McCrudden (Founder: Dance Mama)

The Green Dance Award: Eliot Smith Dance

Artistic innovation in Dance Award: BirdGang Ltd.

People’s Choice Award: Sander Blommaert

The Bob Lockyer Award for Digital Innovation: Alexander Whitley Dance Company

The Jane Attenborough Award: Gail Claxton-Parmel MBE

Social media graphics for all the recipients can be downloaded here 


See full One Dance UK Awards Terms and Conditions here.