Nominations open for the 2017 Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award

12 Dec 2017

Brenda ‘Birdie’ Last receiving the 2016 Jane Attenborough Industry Award at the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards, with Andrew Hurst, One Dance UK CEO. © Elliott Franks

Closing date for nominations: 15 January 2018

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award, which honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. The award aims to highlight the important, but often unacknowledged, contributions made by individuals who make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen.

The winner will be announced at the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards on 19 February 2018.

Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a dance manager, designer, teacher, healthcare practitioner, critic – in fact anyone – who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role. People who have been nominated in previous years but have not won can be re-nominated.

Previous winners of the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award include: Dick Matchett MBE (2003), Theresa Beattie (2004), Brendan Keaney (2005), Val Bourne CBE (2006), Celeste Dandeker OBE (2007), Janet Smith MBE (2008), Marie McCluskey MBE (2009), Gill Clarke (2010), David Burnie (2011), Jeanette Siddall CBE (2012), Amanda Chinn (2013), Frank Doran (2014), Tamara McLorg (2015), and Brenda Last (2016).

Previous winner Tamara McLorg, choreographer and director, said on receiving the 2015 award:

“I feel honoured and very humble to have been awarded The Jane Attenborough One Dance UK Industry Award. It is as though I have been given an extraordinary gift and would like to thank everyone that has nominated me.

“Throughout my career in dance, that has taken many various roles, I have not travelled alone but have been supported by many extraordinary people. From my original teachers who inspired me with their wisdom and knowledge, dancers and other artists who so graciously helped me create and all the wonderful community dancers from many cultures who put faith and trust in my choreography. Along with the art of dance they have enriched my life. I share this gift with them.”

How to make a nomination:

  • Nominations for the award should be sent to Joanne Whittaker, administrator, via email to
  • All nominations must be received by Monday 15 January 2018
  • Please include the name of the person nominated, along with a statement of no more than 200 words explaining why this person should win the award.
  • Please include your own name and contact details
  • Please state where the person nominated is based and how he or she can be contacted.

The One Dance UK Industry Award is dedicated to, and named after, Jane Attenborough, who was the founding Director of Dance UK (now One Dance UK).