Dance Awards Shortlist Shines Spotlight on the Sector

16 Oct 2018


The first ever sector-wide awards shortlist for dance is announced today.

One Dance UK, the sector support organisation for dance, today announces the shortlist for the One Dance UK Awards. Saluting the outstanding contribution of people working in dance, the annual event is an opportunity for people in the industry to unite, celebrate, acknowledge and recognise the people who have made an impact on the vibrant UK dance landscape.

A panel of expert judges, drawn from the dance sector reviewed over 800 nominations to arrive at a shortlist of 3 nominees for each category. The final winners will be announced at a glamorous award ceremony, dinner and celebration on 24 November in Leeds.

Andrew Hurst, Chief Executive comments “We are delighted that so many nominations have come in and are looking forward to recognising the hard work and talent of people making a difference to the dance sector. The 23 awards categories acknowledge the many areas of work that professionals and practitioners are involved in. There is plenty to celebrate in the Dance sector today ”

The category shortlists are as follows

Dance Personality of the Year Award
Rosie Kay
Eliot Smith
Susan Calman

Best use of Dance by a Brand Award
Levis – The Circle
Reed – Love Mondays
Apple – Sway

Jane Attenborough Award – sponsored by Gordon & Co
June Gamble
Karen Gallagher
Jacky Lansley

Dance of the African Diaspora Lifetime Achievement Award – Supported by Derrick Anderson
Greta Mendez
Namron OBE
Maxine Brown

People’s Choice Award
Donald Hutera
Dance Action Zone Leeds
Motionhouse – Charge

Lifetime Achievement in Dance Education and Learning Award – Sponsored by Harlequin
Marion Gough
Kathy Williams
Dr Ann Hutchinson Guest

Outstanding Dance Programming Award – Sponsored by ISTD

Serendipity – LDIF
Yorkshire Dance

Research in Dance – Impact Award – Sponsored by Northern School of Contemporary Dance
Dr Sarah Whatley – Centre for Dance Research at Coventry University
Professor Matthew Wyon – Dance Science at University of Wolverhampton
Professor Emma Redding – Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance

Dance Healthcare Team Award – Sponsored by Fusion Sport Europe Ltd
London Contemporary Dance School
Elmhurst Ballet School
Royal Ballet School

Dance Healthcare Practitioner Award – Supported by The Laws family
Karolin Krell – Osteopath and Physiotherapist
Kim Hutt – London Contemporary Dance School
Terry Hyde – Psychotherapist/Counsellor

Inspirational Community Dance Practitioner Award – Sponsored by Leeds City College
Rachel Liggitt – Shropshire
Tess Chaytor – Co-founder TIN Arts
Louise Marshall – Dance Artist, Eden Court Theatre

Dance Advocacy Award – Sponsored by Northern School of Contemporary Dance
Caroline Bowditch – Advocate and agent for change for access for disabled people in dance
Laura Graham – Magpie Dance
Colleen O’Keeffe – Dance in Primary and Secondary schools in London Borough of Tottenham

Leeds Dance Partnership Award – Sponsored by Leeds Dance Partnership
Ian Rodley – Dance Action Zone Leeds
Spin Arts
Mobius Dance

Outstanding Primary Dance Teaching Award – Sponsored by Dancewear Central
Lucy Seymour – Tannery Drift First School
Caroline Newman – West Wiltshire Schools Dance Partnership
Jessica Bulaitis – Central Primary School

Outstanding Secondary Dance Teaching Award
Hilary Seaton – Ryde Academy
Jade Hunt – Horizon Community College
Geoff Lake – LeAF Studio School Bournemouth

Rising Star Award for Dance Teaching
Kirsty Tremayne – London
Shaun Dillon – Suffolk
Georgia Poole – Magpie Dance Facilitator

Dance Writing Award
Judith Mackrell
Adesola Akinleye
Graham Watts

Innovation in Dance Award
Smack That (a conversation) by Rhiannon Faith
Corey Baker Dance
Step Change Studios

Dance on Screen – Impact Award
The Sunday Night Drinkers Club
Candoco Dance Company
Ben Williams

Most Supportive Senior Leader or Governor Award
David Stewart – Oak Field School, Nottingham
Jane Jenkins – Moorland Primary School, Cardiff
Colleen O’Keeffe – Harris Academy Tottenham

Inspirational Lecturer at College, University or Conservatoire
Ann Nugent – University of Chichester
Alice Marshall – University of Derby
Rosemary Brandt – Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music & Dance

Inspirational Work in Education (organisations)
Candoco Dance Company
Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music & Dance

Dance Science Award sponsored by Birmingham Royal Ballet 
Rupert Wiltshire – KS Dance
Professor Emma Redding – Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance
Professor Matthew Wyon – Dance Science at University of Wolverhampton

Click here to find out more about the Awards event or email